If you work at a restaurant or handle food in a food establishment, you’ll need to take a Food Handler Safety Training course. But before you enroll into a food safety course, find out what are the requirements your state has for Food Handler Training and Food Manager Certification.
Some states (Alaska, Arizona, California, Florida, Illinois, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and Washington) and some local jurisdictions (check with your local health authority) require that Food Handlers take a food safety training course from an ANSI-accredited organization.
- Learn about foodborne pathogens, cross contamination, cold and hot food safety, and best practices to prevent foodborne illness.
- Food Manager ANSI Certification: $99.00 - Valid in all States
- Food Handler Training: Only $7.00!
- 10% OFF: Enter Promo Code "train10off" at Checkout
Table: Food Safety State Requirements
Select your state below and find out the state level food handler and food manager certification requirements:
- Certification Exam: State requires mandatory Food Manager Certification Exam.
- Demonstrate Knowledge: A demonstration of food safety knowledge is required by a food manager. A Certification Exam is the best way to demonstrate that knowledge.
- County Requirements: There are certain counties that have specific requirements.
- Training Certificate: State requires mandatory Food Handler Training certificate/card.
- Recommended: Food Handler Training is recommended, but not required. Requirements may vary per business.
|State||Food Handler Requirements||Food Manager Requirements
|Alabama||County Requirements||Certification Exam|
|Alaska||Yes – Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|Arizona||County Requirements||County Requirements|
|California||Yes – Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|Florida||Yes – Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|Illinois||Yes – Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|Kansas||County Requirements||Demonstrate Knowledge|
|Kentucky||County Requirements||County Requirements|
|Missouri||County Requirements||County Requirements|
|Montana||County Requirements||Certification Exam|
|Nebraska||County Requirements||County Requirements|
|Nevada||County Requirements||County Requirements|
|New Hampshire||Recommended||County Requirements|
|New Jersey||County Requirements||Certification Exam|
|New Mexico||County Requirements
|New York||County Requirements, NYC – Training Certificate||County Requirements|
|North Carolina||Recommended||Certification Exam|
|North Dakota||Recommended||Demonstrate Knowledge|
|Oklahoma||County Requirements||County Requirements|
|Oregon||Yes – Training Certificate||Demonstrate Knowledge|
|Pennsylvania||Recommended||Certification Exam – HACCP|
|Rhode Island||Recommended||Certification Exam|
|South Carolina||Recommended||Certification Exam|
|South Dakota||Recommended||Certification Exam|
|Texas||Yes – Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|Utah||Yes Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|Virginia||County Requirements||Certification Exam|
|Washington||Yes – Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|Washington DC||Yes – Training Certificate||Certification Exam|
|West Virginia||County Requirements||County Requirements|
The information in the table below is just a guide and believed to be accurate at the time provided. No warranty of accuracy is given. Please check with your local health department or regulatory body within your jurisdiction for the most current information.